Here I go feet first into the blogosphere

My name is Jerri Stroud. I’ve been a reporter at the St. Louis Post-Dispatch for 33 years, 27 of them in the business news department. Now I’m going out of my own. It’s a bit scary, but there comes a time when you have to make a change. The news business is changing, and so must I.

When I started in this business, we typed our stories on three-part carbonless forms and edited them with Ebony pencils. We experimented with optical scanner recognition, then went on to computers that used floppy disks that only held eight stories (of relatively short length) and finally to Jazbox, a system that uses Adobe Incopy. I once figured out that I’d had to learn at least eight different computer systems, but that was ages ago. We’ve also dipped our toes into the blogosphere, and increasingly, stories run first on the Internet and then in the paper.

For the last year and a half, I’ve written a personal finance column for the Post-Dispatch and covered banking and financial news. In the past, I’ve covered telecommunications, cable television, agriculture, the grocery business, general assignment news in the Illinois suburbs of St. Louis, suburban news, police beat – I’ve even written a couple of sports stories.

In addition to being a reporter, I’m the mother of a software developer, the wife of an engineer and a prolific quilt-maker. The software developer is grown up, so I’m kind of irrelevant to his life. I’m not sure what will be my next career: artist & quiltmaker, free lance writer or something I haven’t yet imagined.

So here we go into the wild blue blogosphere.

2 responses to “Here I go feet first into the blogosphere

  1. Thought that I would do a little research, while waiting for 8:30PM and giving you a call regarding the St. Louis Confluence Riverkeeper program.

    We to are now beginning a venture into the wild blue, however in our case the water is not even a shade of blue. As Mark Twain once said its two thick to drink and to thin to plow.

    Will give you a call soon, Ron 314-605-0106

  2. Jerri,

    Congratulations on your dive into the blogosphere and the next chapter of your life. I love the Pocketbook and Patches title.
    Also, I want to go on the record stating that, as my friend of many years, you have been and are very relevant to my life. Thanks for sharing your wisdom and talents! The best is yet to come!

Leave a Reply

