“Crumb Cake,” a quilt made of fabric “crumbs”

Late last summer, I was at a loss for which quilt project to do next. I decided to do some free piecing of my scraps and crumbs of hand-dyed fabric left from previous quilts. I’ve made a lot of greeting cards this way, and I decided to see if they might add up to a quilt.

The result is “Crumb Cake,” which I finally completed over the past weekend. The quilt is approximately 24 inches wide by 27.5 inches high. The quilting designs vary from block to block. I have had trouble capturing the detail of the quilting in the picture.

The top had been done since September, and I began quilting it, then lost interest in the project. I decided to apply myself this weekend and finished the very detailed quilting in silk thread, a technique I learned from Diane Gaudynski, a master of fine quilting.

2 responses to ““Crumb Cake,” a quilt made of fabric “crumbs”

  1. Jerri,

    I just discovered your blog. I wll bookmark it for future reference. Another quilty artist I like is Pam Holland. She also has a blog that you might enjoy. She is from Australia, but travels extensively and teaches at major quilt shows in the U.S. I am going to Houston this fall, my last chance to go on the cheap before my friend retires and moves from Houston to Austin! I hope to get into her class there.

    Anyway, I love you little crumb quilt. What a good idea. I may “borrow” your idea.

  2. Pingback: the quilt shop·

Leave a Reply

